1999 Isuzu Amigo

1999 Isuzu Amigo Prices
Blue Book® Suggested Retail Value
1999 Isuzu Amigo Fuel Economy
Fuel Economy (city/hwy)
AdChoices
Tell us what you think...
The community thinks...
  • Styling8.9
  • Performance8.9
  • Interior7.8
  • Quality8.6
  • Recommendation8.4
See reviews by
Owners
Test Drivers
Enthusiasts
Sort by
1 - 5 of 73 reviews
2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10  Next
Show per page
Owner
  • Styling8.0
  • Performance8.0
  • Interior7.0
  • Quality9.0
  • Recommendation9.0
multiple personalities arer great (in a vehicle) by Wolf63 from Denver Colorado on 06/25/2007. Trim: 1999 Isuzu Amigo S 2WD Soft Top, Owned 8 years.
2
Pros: I've liked the Amigo's style from the beginning, and It's a great value for the money. It has proven to be amazingly reliable with the only repair being an alternator back while it was still under warranty. The convertible top works well and really opens up the experience. Interior is well laid out and roomy.
Cons: looking back, I would have gotten the V6. On rough terrain and at high speeds the 4 cyl. lacks power and the clutch takes the beating. suspension is on the rough side. Interior (on the model I purchased ) was spartan since I bought the most basic model
Overall review: I have been very pleased with the Amigo and would recommend it to others looking for a small SUV that performs well as a daily driver and a weekend fun vehicle.
Review ID: #512802 Is this review offensive?
Owner
  • Styling8.0
  • Performance10
  • Interior8.0
  • Quality9.0
  • Recommendation8.0
Great Vehicle by foriegnCars from University Place on 09/09/2010. Trim: 1999 Isuzu Amigo S V6 4WD Soft Top, Owned more than 10 years.
1
Pros: i like the size and the quality. i bought a lemon and i had to replace a few things but it was under warranty. after i fixed those issues 9 years ago i havent had a problem since :)
Cons: nothing much just the oil consumption but thats easy too take care of.
Overall review: great vehicle never been stranded in the past 11 years. i love it.
Review ID: #548843 Is this review offensive?
Owner
  • Styling9.0
  • Performance9.0
  • Interior7.0
  • Quality7.0
  • Recommendation7.0
Happy Amigo owner by eRacer_X from Los Angeles on 03/11/2009. Trim: 1999 Isuzu Amigo S V6 2WD Hard Top, Owned 5 years.
1
Pros: Excellent acceleration for an SUV. Looks great, especially 2000 and up model. Lots of ground clearance. Fairly maneuverable with a good turning radius. Good carrying capacity with the rear seats flipped forward. Solidly built with good roll over protection. Good reliability. Unlike others I've experienced no more then the usual amount of oil consumption.
Cons: Rear seat access is very difficult due to 2 door design and narrow opening with a high step in. Probably not a good family car (just try buckling in a child to the rear car seat). Mediocre gas mileage. Nickle sized area of rust developing on top of roof.
Overall review: Overall I've been very happy with my Amigo. I bought the truck for a great price in near mint condition with 55000 miles and now have over 120000 on it. The only real problem I've had was shortly after buying it the transmission developed a "hard shifting" problem where the car would slam into 2nd gear (this is with the auto trans'). I took it back to the used car dealer who replaced a part and "fixed" the problem. Within a couple days it was back. I finally did an online search and found a cheap fix. $45 later the truck was shifting fine. Around a year ago a knucklehead backed into me so I decided to upgrade the front end with the newer head lights and plastic. Now the truck looks better then ever. Of course it IS a truck and has relatively primitive suspension so it will never handle as well on the road as some of the car based SUV's on the market.
Review ID: #537776 Is this review offensive?
Owner
  • Styling9.0
  • Performance9.0
  • Interior8.0
  • Quality9.0
  • Recommendation9.0
Good things coming in small package by An MSN Autos Consumer on 02/11/2007. Trim: 1999 Isuzu Amigo S V6 2WD Hard Top, Owned 1 year.
1
Pros: Styling and bang for the buck are great. Feel that for what you pay it exceeds its competitors and satifies the expectations. A lot of truck in a small well equiped package
Cons: My check engine light has been on since the first week of owning this vehicle (over 1 yr. now). Check engine light is VERY sensitive, seems to come on for any slight reason. Backseat is a NO GO -- they are nice to look at but you can forget about using them (my daughter is 3 and has a hard time fitting in the back).
Overall review: I'd recommend this vehicle for a specific type of person -- either for a commuter (as I use mine), for a college/high schooler or single/cpl. w/ no kids.
Review ID: #505922 Is this review offensive?
Owner
  • Styling8.0
  • Performance9.0
  • Interior7.0
  • Quality9.0
  • Recommendation9.0
the great in between by An MSN Autos Consumer on 08/20/2006. Trim: 1999 Isuzu Amigo S V6 2WD Hard Top, Owned 2 years.
1
Pros: great performance. the v6 is the perfect powerhouse for dodging in and out of traffic. the handling and braking are also very good. it is perfect because it has the feel of an suv, but the size of a car for those tight parking spots.
Cons: fuel consumption is really the only downside. can get loud at 80+ speeds.
Overall review: just a great automobile.
Review ID: #497170 Is this review offensive?
1 - 5 of 73 reviews
2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10  Next
Show per page
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by Microsoft Corporation nor MSN Autos. Have comments about MSN Autos' User Reviews? Send us an email.
advertisement

Search local listings

powered by:

Recently Viewed Cars

View favorites
BB01 - 7/23/2014 7:53:11 AM