2000 Chevrolet Malibu

2000 Chevrolet Malibu Prices
Blue Book® Suggested Retail Value
2000 Chevrolet Malibu Fuel Economy
Fuel Economy (city/hwy)
AdChoices
Tell us what you think...
The community thinks...
  • Styling8.1
  • Performance7.5
  • Interior8.0
  • Quality6.8
  • Recommendation7.0
See reviews by
Owners
Test Drivers
Enthusiasts
Sort by
1 - 5 of 200 reviews
2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10  Next
Show per page
Owner
  • Styling8.0
  • Performance8.0
  • Interior8.0
  • Quality8.0
  • Recommendation8.0
Long Endurance Car. by An MSN Autos Consumer on 03/17/2014. Trim: 2000 Chevrolet Malibu Base, Owned 4 years.
2
Pros: First found this car with almost 200,000 miles from an auction place 5 years ago. Just basic fluid changes, and easy parts replacement. Now at 223,000 miles still on it's original engine and transmission after almost 15 years of life in hot New Mexico. Suspension still smooth and steady. Could not think of anything to improve on it.
Cons: Plastic wheel covers.
Overall review: For a car to own long term, buy it simple and plain. Less to fail on you. This car is it's example.
Review ID: #582805 Is this review offensive?
Owner
  • Styling8.0
  • Performance3.0
  • Interior9.0
  • Quality4.0
  • Recommendation3.0
Comfy but Problematic by Samstarr from North Dakota on 10/01/2011. Trim: 2000 Chevrolet Malibu LS, Owned 4 years.
2
Pros: It's comfortable and roomy, large trunk, decent stereo. Got around pretty good in North Dakota winters.
Cons: Numerous engine problems. Apparently there's antifreeze leaking into the oil. There is a constant ticking noise. It shakes slightly when idling. Brake problems. Heat stopped working in the middle of winter. The air does not come out at a high rate (heat and ac). The driver's side cupholder is a total joke.
Overall review: I wouldn't recommend this car. Malibus are great, but I suggest going with a newer model.
Review ID: #554563 Is this review offensive?
Owner
  • Styling8.0
  • Performance6.0
  • Interior9.0
  • Quality3.0
  • Recommendation6.0
Quality Nonexistent by Looking for another car, and it won't be a Malibu on 11/12/2008. Trim: 2000 Chevrolet Malibu Base, Owned 6 years.
2
Pros: I love the roomy interior--when I bought this car in 2002, I knew this was the car I had to get as soon as I sat down in it. The stereo is excellent, the seats are comfortable, the car handles nicely. I also like the fluid exterior design of the car.
Cons: Where to start? I've formed an attachment with my Malibu because I've had it for 6 years now and we've driven so many places together, but I've realized that we've had a dysfunctional relationship. Maybe I'm the enabler. Things went wrong shortly after I purchased it, and it was still under warranty. Since then...The ignition switch was replaced, the air vent controls stopped working on 1 & 2, the knobs for the stereo fell off, the car would stall when I tried to start it (mechanics said they couldn't find a problem)...When I think about it, my love and devotion for my first car has really been a sham. I think my Malibu might be in love with my mechanic.
Overall review: There are numerous other problems that I've had with the Malibu that I didn't list with in my review, but you get the point--every year there's hundreds more in repair costs for something. My car is at 112,000 miles, and I've taken care of it with regular oil changes, tune ups, etc. but even in the early years it had problems. I mean, how cheap does a car have to be for the stereo knobs to split in half and break? Twice? The paint also hasn't lasted, and this car looks as bad as it feels these days. Even though I have enjoyed the car, the quality just isn't there. I'm sure you can get similar cars that have more options for the money these days.
Review ID: #533898 Is this review offensive?
Owner
  • Styling8.0
  • Performance8.0
  • Interior8.0
  • Quality8.0
  • Recommendation8.0
Long Endurance Car. by An MSN Autos Consumer on 03/17/2014. Trim: 2000 Chevrolet Malibu Base, Owned 4 years.
1
Pros: First found this car with almost 200,000 miles from an auction place 5 years ago. Just basic fluid changes, and easy parts replacement. Now at 223,000 miles still on it's original engine and transmission after almost 15 years of life in hot New Mexico. Suspension still smooth and steady. Could not think of anything to improve on it.
Cons: Plastic wheel covers.
Overall review: For a car to own long term, buy it simple and plain. Less to fail on you. This car is it's example.
Review ID: #582804 Is this review offensive?
Owner
  • Styling7.0
  • Performance8.0
  • Interior10
  • Quality9.0
  • Recommendation10
Great Car For A Great Price by Andrew of Oceanside, CA on 07/21/2013. Trim: 2000 Chevrolet Malibu LS, Owned less than 1 year.
1
Pros: I like the styling of almost the whole exterior, the interior is very comfortable, the acceleration is decent for a 13 year old family sedan, the handling is much better than expected, the exhaust has a nice note to it, and it is a very smooth ride, and the emission system is flawless; I just got it smogged last month and it passed with exceptional scores with only routine maintenance done beforehand, which is outstanding for a 13-year-old car with 205,xxx miles on it.
Cons: I don't particularly like the design of the front end, it's too rounded at the nose. The paint quality is under-par. The fact that it comes with drum brakes in the rear is a turn-off. The lack of interior color scheme selection is rather disappointing. The lack of transmission choice is upsetting (It'd be much better with a manual, in my opinion). Lack of factory extras is also disappointing, but can be worked around with a little bit of ingenuity. The driver's-side cupholder to the left of the steering wheel is a joke, it won't hold anything but some spare screws while working on the interior.
Overall review: Overall, the car is a very good value (mine better than most, being that I only paid $1,000 for mine this year). What you get for what the KBB on the car is very nice compared to some others I've seen. Being that all I had to do was an oil change, replace the air filter, and the spark plugs and wires on an otherwise unmaintained car, and it passed smog with better scores than some of my friends' newer cars, I'd say the car isn't as bad as some make it out to be. The fact that it has a spoiler, sunroof, leather seats, and a decent stereo with it is just an added bonus. It's by no stretch a race car, but it is a fun car for a first-time car owner to a more experienced car owner alike. I'd highly recommend the car to anyone in need/want of a reliable , semi-luxurious car at an affordable price.
Review ID: #574610 Is this review offensive?
1 - 5 of 200 reviews
2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10  Next
Show per page
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by Microsoft Corporation nor MSN Autos. Have comments about MSN Autos' User Reviews? Send us an email.
advertisement

Search local listings

powered by:

Recently Viewed Cars

View favorites
BB03 - 7/26/2014 10:53:45 AM