1997 Toyota Camry

1997 Toyota Camry Prices
Blue Book® Suggested Retail Value
1997 Toyota Camry Fuel Economy
Fuel Economy (city/hwy)
AdChoices
Tell us what you think...
The community thinks...
  • Styling8.4
  • Performance8.5
  • Interior8.5
  • Quality8.6
  • Recommendation8.7
See reviews by
Owners
Test Drivers
Enthusiasts
Sort by
1 - 5 of 200 reviews
2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10  Next
Show per page
Owner
  • Styling10
  • Performance5.0
  • Interior10
  • Quality4.0
  • Recommendation1.0
Oil Sludged Engine by VANESSA on 05/26/2002. Trim: 1997 Toyota Camry XLE V6, Owned 3 years.
7
Pros: comfortable nice ride
Cons: brakes make a click sound, there is an "Sludge problem in the engines of the camry or as toyota refers to it an "oil gel problem" in the 1997 thru 2002.
Overall review: I have owned toyota's all of my life and have been very satisfied with them, however all the 1997 thry 2002 cars have this oil sludge problem in the cars, i have just had my engine totally rebuilt, toyota's arrogance when it comes to admitting that this is an engine default is beyond imagination, they did cover most of the cost but still want to try and blame this on the consumer not doing regular oil changes, which I have done. This is a warning to all owners of this make and model if you have blue smoke coming from the exhaust bring it in immediately. Why hasn't there been a recall on these cars, and why are they still selling them knowing this is a potential problem. Unfortuntaly I will be joining others in a class action lawsuit and toyota just lost a lifetime customer due to their arrogance
Review ID: #276938 Is this review offensive?
Owner
  • Styling8.0
  • Performance9.0
  • Interior10
  • Quality9.0
  • Recommendation9.0
My Camry by jackie on 10/18/2012. Trim: 1997 Toyota Camry, Owned more than 10 years.
2
Pros: When I gave my '97 Camry to a friend a few weeks ago, it had over 320,000 miles on it. It was easy to take care of and very inexpensive to drive. I hated to see it go and I still miss it.
Cons: The paint began to peel about a year ago.
Overall review: This was my second Camry to own. I will buy another in the future, I'm sure.
Review ID: #565648 Is this review offensive?
Owner
  • Styling7.0
  • Performance8.0
  • Interior7.0
  • Quality8.0
  • Recommendation9.0
King of Cars "Camry" by Camry Fan on 09/16/2011. Trim: 1997 Toyota Camry LE, Owned more than 10 years.
2
Pros: Quiet car. And on nice roads, really quiet car. Still runs great at 14 years old, bought it new.
Cons: nothing.
Overall review: Bought the camry in 1997 in Oklahoma brand new. Used it all over the states when moving to different areas. Used it in OK, TX, NM, and now in CA. Really good car. Keep up with the maintenance and all will be well. Get to know the car and if you see something out of the usual, replace it. Like when the light bulbs go out, replace it. Stay on top of maintenance on the vehicle and the car will serve you well. Do not wait to fix everything at once. Truly good car. Buy it new and keep it for 14 to 15 years and you will reap the rewards of owning a good car and save lots of money.
Review ID: #554334 Is this review offensive?
Owner
  • Styling9.0
  • Performance10
  • Interior10
  • Quality9.0
  • Recommendation10
Best Car Ever by Cam, New Hampshire USA on 03/14/2011. Trim: 1997 Toyota Camry LE, Owned 4 years.
2
Pros: I've had this car 07 to present, it always starts, no major repairs since ownership except transmission due to previous owner. at max since then i have not had to pay more than $900 in one shot> this was also because i had to buy all new tires for inspection. EGR valve needed replace at 150,000 miles about $200. Exhust pipe and flex pipe needed replace at 190,000 miles about $400. ~ Easy access to engine for maintence and replacing of headlight bulbs considering age PRO LOW LIVING COST OF UNIT
Cons: My Gas cap lever on the interior of gas intake housing froze an broke at 160,000 or so, i've seen this happen to a few other camry owners. currently holding it in place with magnet. -- Headlights dont really produce enough lighting during rain/snow - i installed foglights but not a whole lot of room todo it. lighting still leaves some to be desired.
Overall review: I love this car, i have driven probably 13 different cars for a fair period of time, this is my first personal car of my own, i only work part time and i've beenable to handle all repair costs myself. access to the engine makes for EASY oil changes/ air filter changes. the unit had a low idle at one point but i fixed that easily due to the engine access with no real machanical experties. the interior and exterior have stood up to time an wear very well.
Review ID: #551426 Is this review offensive?
Owner
  • Styling10
  • Performance10
  • Interior10
  • Quality10
  • Recommendation10
great car by ronin on 11/25/2010. Trim: 1997 Toyota Camry XLE, Owned less than 1 year.
2
Pros: stylish since 13 year
Cons: elegant
Overall review: great car
Review ID: #549825 Is this review offensive?
1 - 5 of 200 reviews
2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10  Next
Show per page
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by Microsoft Corporation nor MSN Autos. Have comments about MSN Autos' User Reviews? Send us an email.
advertisement

Search local listings

powered by:

Recently Viewed Cars

View favorites
BB02 - 9/20/2014 1:45:28 AM