1998 Mercury Grand Marquis

1998 Mercury Grand Marquis Prices
Blue Book® Suggested Retail Value
1998 Mercury Grand Marquis Fuel Economy
Fuel Economy (city/hwy)
AdChoices
Tell us what you think...
The community thinks...
  • Styling9.2
  • Performance9.3
  • Interior8.9
  • Quality9.1
  • Recommendation9.4
See reviews by
Owners
Test Drivers
Enthusiasts
Sort by
1 - 5 of 117 reviews
2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10  Next
Show per page
Owner
  • Styling10
  • Performance10
  • Interior10
  • Quality10
  • Recommendation10
A GREAT CAR by An MSN Autos Consumer on 07/26/2011. Trim: 1998 Mercury Grand Marquis GS, Owned more than 10 years.
5
Pros: low maintenance nice quiet ride
Cons: Bad in snow and ice
Overall review: great car too bad it is discontinued
Review ID: #553588 Is this review offensive?
Owner
  • Styling10
  • Performance10
  • Interior9.0
  • Quality10
  • Recommendation10
The Ultimate car by Shirley, Wasilla, Alaska on 11/13/2013. Trim: 1998 Mercury Grand Marquis GS, Owned more than 10 years.
1
Pros: I bought a 1998 Mercury Marquiz 4 door, at 32000 miles and present day, the Merury is at 232670 miles on the odometer, going to and from work 50 miles one way and back. This car has been very reliable, starts up below freezing temperatures, and I feel safe in it because it is heavy duty, and strong. The brakes are excellent, the motor sounds like a purring cat, the heater gets very toasty in Alaska weather. This has been the best reliable car I have had, and I drove every make and model since 1974.
Cons: There are no dislikes about the Merciry Grand Marquis GS sedan.
Overall review: I am recommending this make, model and year of the car 1998 Mercury Grand Marquiz GS sedan, to my family, friends, associates, college friends, church family, auntss, uncles, cousins, relatives and so on. This car is safe, reliable, starts up under extreme freezing conditions in Alaska, the heater heats up and warms, melts the ice off the windows and my children, friends, family, and grand children are safe in this car.
Review ID: #578297 Is this review offensive?
Owner
  • Styling10
  • Performance10
  • Interior7.0
  • Quality8.0
  • Recommendation9.0
Excellent 1998 Mercury Grand Marquis by Eric on 09/20/2013. Trim: 1998 Mercury Grand Marquis GS, Owned 1 year.
1
Pros: Everything is great with this car. I bought this car over a year ago with hardly any problems. It's a well maintained vehicle with lots of speed. The handling is excellent same with the acceleration.
Cons: The front seats are uncomfortable during long trips, the cup holders are in the way of the climate control. Intake manifold failure at about 100K, but the replacement manifold is fairly cheap. Paid only $150 through auto parts store. The cost of the manifold replacement isn't what kills you, it's the labor charges at a local garage.
Overall review: I would definitely buy another one of these cars & would recommend this car to anyone.
Review ID: #576169 Is this review offensive?
Owner
  • Styling8.0
  • Performance8.0
  • Interior7.0
  • Quality10
  • Recommendation9.0
GREAT big car with luxurious options that gets good mileage. by An MSN Autos Consumer on 07/30/2013. Trim: 1998 Mercury Grand Marquis LS, Owned 2 years.
1
Pros: I like that this car was very cheap (paid $2500 2 years ago when it had 79,000 miles). It is a large car that is extremely RELIABLE and hauls lots of people and cargo AND gets good mileage. Just came back from Seattle to the east side of the state yesterday and got 25.86 miles per gallon (1 person, little cargo and going about 74 mph for 240 miles)! It has never needed any maintenance and now has 111,000 miles. I don't really like the looks of it, but it makes so much sense to keep it. Has a GREAT air conditioner too! Wish mine had air suspension in the rear. What a great feeling not having a year's salary wrapped up in a new car that goes down in value!
Cons: The seats in the front aren't the most comfortable for my body. The cupholders are placed directly in front of the climate control and you have to move them to adjust the climate control. My cruise control is finicky sometimes and takes a couple times to set. No anti-lock brakes on mine although it's an option on some. Why would a Ford Taurus have ABS but not Mercury's top of the line luxury sedan?? Don't understand that!
Overall review: Luxurious and extremely reliable car!
Review ID: #574849 Is this review offensive?
Owner
  • Styling10
  • Performance8.0
  • Interior10
  • Quality9.0
  • Recommendation10
My personal limo by Rich from Phoenix on 02/20/2011. Trim: 1998 Mercury Grand Marquis LS, Owned less than 1 year.
1
Pros: Very nice turning radius, and the steering is smooth, just enough eight cylinder power and still manages to be in the high teens for city comute. Very comfortable seating and smooth ride.
Cons: Not a big fan of the landau top but it was a steal at a thousand below book for us. The power windows seem a bit slow, and the air suspention pump seems to be adjusting often.
Overall review: Love the Marquis! We have had a 2000 LeSabre for years and it has served us well; we expect the same from the Marquis and look forward to putting many miles on it! I bought from my parents neihbor who was 92 and could no longer enjoy the car he bought new in 98. My tlc should work just fine with only 58 k on it, there are alot of road trips planned for the future.
Review ID: #551080 Is this review offensive?
1 - 5 of 117 reviews
2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10  Next
Show per page
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by Microsoft Corporation nor MSN Autos. Have comments about MSN Autos' User Reviews? Send us an email.
advertisement

Search local listings

powered by:

Recently Viewed Cars

View favorites
BB05 - 8/22/2014 2:53:06 AM