1997 Lexus LX 450

1997 Lexus LX 450 Prices
Blue Book® Suggested Retail Value
1997 Lexus LX 450 Fuel Economy
Fuel Economy (city/hwy)
AdChoices
Tell us what you think...
The community thinks...
  • Styling9.4
  • Performance8.3
  • Interior8.9
  • Quality9.2
  • Recommendation9.2
See reviews by
Owners
Test Drivers
Enthusiasts
Sort by
1 - 5 of 28 reviews
2 3 4 5 6  Next
Show per page
Owner
  • Styling10
  • Performance9.0
  • Interior10
  • Quality10
  • Recommendation10
Fantastic all-around truck by Red Rado on 03/31/2010. Trim: 1997 Lexus LX 450, Owned 5 years.
1
Pros: The ride is very comfortable for a big truck, as it's primary use is our family vehicle. It's capability off-road, dirt and snow, is amazing. Duel dif lockers are a lifesaver. I have been very happy with it's towing capabilities for this class of vehicle as well. I tow a 21ft camping trailer (about 4500lbs loaded) over mountain passes with very little difficulty. It converts from a family vehicle to a utility truck easily with the fold up/down seats.
Cons: Breaks wear fairly quickly, gas mileage is poor. But this was expected, so not a big concern for me. The only thing I had to do to this truck was to upgrade the rear suspension with added air-bags to handle the increased weight of our trailer. Other than that, I have no complaints so far whatsoever.
Overall review: This is by far the best all-around truck I have purchased to date. The reliability and wide range of functionality is hard to beat. I can pack the family in for a comfortable drive to the mall one day, and be driving up mountain logging roads in a foot of snow the next. I don't know that I will ever get rid of this truck.
Review ID: #546420 Is this review offensive?
Owner
  • Styling10
  • Performance10
  • Interior10
  • Quality10
  • Recommendation10
ahead of its time by Trouthog on 11/05/2005. Trim: 1997 Lexus LX 450, Owned 8 years.
1
Pros: solid,roomy good mileage
Cons: brakes every 30k
Overall review: A great value
Review ID: #481030 Is this review offensive?
Owner
  • Styling9.0
  • Performance8.0
  • Interior9.0
  • Quality10
  • Recommendation9.0
My Rig by An MSN Autos Consumer on 11/19/2003. Trim: 1997 Lexus LX 450, Owned less than 1 year.
1
Pros: 7 seats, room for the family dog, Toyota quality. The 1/3 tailgate, that's awesome!
Cons: One touch up on the front windows, could use a little more power, brakes need to replaced too frequently.
Overall review: I hesitated in choosing the Lexus version over it's Landcruiser sibling, but I like it so much better because the interior is nicer and more comfortable. Also, the exterior side cladding makes the truck look more complete. This truck is the best looking SUV ever built, especially in Black!!
Review ID: #391012 Is this review offensive?
Owner
  • Styling10
  • Performance9.0
  • Interior10
  • Quality10
  • Recommendation10
Complete Pleasure! by Brian from Jacksonville on 11/11/2002. Trim: 1997 Lexus LX 450, Owned less than 1 year.
1
Pros: Comfort, prestige-factor, vault-like safety
Cons: Of course, gas mileage!
Overall review: Bought a '97 about 5 months ago with 67,000 miles on it for $20,000. Not weathly by any means, but when you look at the new cars today going for at least 25,000 in the same class, it is no question the reliability and reputation of this spruced up Toyota, it was simply a no brainer!!! This vehicle has simply been perfect, with no problems to say the least!!! We feel so comfortable in the coach leather seats and it's very smooth, quiet driving....We plan on owning this for another 100,000 miles at least!!! In fact, we're looking for another LX450/Landcruiser as we speak!!
Review ID: #324461 Is this review offensive?
Owner
  • Styling10
  • Performance8.0
  • Interior8.0
  • Quality10
  • Recommendation9.0
One of the finest SUVs on the road by Gerry, California on 10/31/2002. Trim: 1997 Lexus LX 450, Owned 2 years.
1
Pros: Imparts the luxury feeliing. Drives well, pick up is moderate but then again you are hauling nearly 5,000 lbs. No mechanical problems since purchased used in May 2000 with 32,000 miles on odometer. Comfortable on long drives (San Bernardino to Reno and back).
Cons: Gas mileage as expected, 12 around town, 15 on the road. Straight six cylinder is underpowered compared to the V8 in the current, LX 470 models. Has tendency to sway slightly at speed when changing lanes but then this is characteristic of SUVs in general due to high center of gravity. Provision for only one cup holder, must use add ons for passengers. Third seats suitable only for small children.
Overall review: LX 450 is so sturdy and reliable; if you buy one, be prepared to own it forever. Maintenance-free (except oil changes) since purchased in May 2000. If you find one with a good maintenance record in decent shape, buy it.
Review ID: #322390 Is this review offensive?
1 - 5 of 28 reviews
2 3 4 5 6  Next
Show per page
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by Microsoft Corporation nor MSN Autos. Have comments about MSN Autos' User Reviews? Send us an email.
advertisement

Search local listings

powered by:

Recently Viewed Cars

View favorites
BB06 - 8/20/2014 11:31:32 AM