2008 Ford Expedition

AdChoices
Tell us what you think...
The community thinks...
  • Styling9.7
  • Performance9.5
  • Interior9.8
  • Quality9.0
  • Recommendation9.7
See reviews by
Owners
Test Drivers
Enthusiasts
Sort by
1 - 5 of 23 reviews
2 3 4 5  Next
Show per page
Owner
  • Styling9.0
  • Performance5.0
  • Interior9.0
  • Quality2.0
  • Recommendation5.0
Shaky Ride at 80 mph by Fast and Furious on 11/04/2008. Trim: 2008 Ford Expedition Limited 4X2, Owned less than 1 year.
2
Pros: I traded in my 2006 Expedition XLT for this Limited 2008 in September 2008. It felt improved over my last one in every aspect, especially in the interior design. It also offered a much smoother ride than my old one.
Cons: However, it has a serious problem! When you hit 80 mph (130km) on highway it starts to shake rhythmically. Since I took delivery of the car 2 months ago (Sep) it has been 1 month in the dealers garage without them being able to find the solution. The problem is also that they found that 3 other of the new ones (two 2008 and one 2009) has the very same problem! but so far I am the only one that "supposedly" has reported the problem. My old 2006 Expedition did not have this problem. In the deslership they have changed the cardan, transmission, etc., but without finding the problem, so they now hope that the Ford Factory will come up with the problem and that there will be a recall.
Overall review: The Expedition Limited is really a great car. Improvements compared to the 2006 are; better fuel efficiency, smoother, better acceleration, driver interior is very well designed with compartments for everyting and easy within reach. However, if you drive a lot on the highway and frequently dirive faster than 80 mph (130km), then you will not be pleased with this vehicle. If you have a 2008 Expedition or newer please check out if your vehicle has the same problem, and if so report it to your dealer. The problem is covered by the guarantee, but it is easier fixed if more cases are reported. One of the problems are that until now I am the "only" one that has reported the problem.
Review ID: #533673 Is this review offensive?
Owner
  • Styling10
  • Performance9.0
  • Interior10
  • Quality9.0
  • Recommendation10
Excellent by Funmi, Palm Coast, Florida on 02/15/2012. Trim: 2008 Ford Expedition Eddie Bauer 4X2, Owned less than 1 year.
1
Pros: Everything. It's excellent/
Cons: The steering shakes at 70mph and up and no solution has been found to this problem.
Overall review: It's a good and reliable truck except for the above problem.
Review ID: #556116 Is this review offensive?
Owner
  • Styling9.0
  • Performance9.0
  • Interior9.0
  • Quality2.0
  • Recommendation9.0
The Truck by Steven on 08/10/2009. Trim: 2008 Ford Expedition XLT 4X2, Owned 1 year.
1
Pros: It is a solid large vehicle.
Cons: After replacing the entire airbag system and computer the airbag light still comes on when the temperature is above 80 degrees. If you run the air conditioner for 3 or 4 minutes before engaging gears the airbag light will stay off. Also Ford had to replace the entire drive train within the first 6000 miles because the bearings where defective.
Overall review: It is a nice truck. If you can put up with the electrical problems, such as the airbag light that no one can fix, go for it. I had traded a Navigator in for this vehicle and it had several electrical problems that could never be fixed. Guess it is a Ford thing.
Review ID: #541806 Is this review offensive?
Owner
  • Styling9.0
  • Performance10
  • Interior10
  • Quality9.0
  • Recommendation10
safest SUV by kidstaxidriver (dubai) on 06/23/2008. Trim: 2008 Ford Expedition Eddie Bauer 4X4, Owned less than 1 year.
1
Pros: everything
Cons: it is missing the driving letter instruction on the front (D,R,N),when you change from one to other you have to look at the shift
Overall review: very good
Review ID: #529382 Is this review offensive?
Owner
  • Styling8.0
  • Performance10
  • Interior9.0
  • Quality9.0
  • Recommendation9.0
First drive, 08 Expedition EL Eddie Bauer by Wayne from Nazareth on 09/28/2007. Trim: 2008 Ford Expedition Eddie Bauer 4X4, Owned less than 1 year.
1
Pros: We have had 2 suburbans prior to this and the engine, transmission, braking and steering in the Ford just blow away the GMC. Interior carpet, plastics, leather much better too. Power fold third seat row is great, for some reason the sunroof is much quieter than the gmc, rear quarter panel fold out windows probably help.
Cons: Gotta love that Ford brake dust! Fit and finish could be better but let's be honest this isn't a Lexus. Would be nice to have bose speakers and the fake wood is pretty cheesy.
Overall review: We are thrilled with this vehicle, and feel it to be a significant uprgrade from the GM counterpart
Review ID: #516930 Is this review offensive?
1 - 5 of 23 reviews
2 3 4 5  Next
Show per page
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by Microsoft Corporation nor MSN Autos. Have comments about MSN Autos' User Reviews? Send us an email.
advertisement

Search local listings

powered by:

Recently Viewed Cars

View favorites
BB01 - 4/18/2014 11:30:43 AM