2005 Chrysler Sebring

AdChoices
Tell us what you think...
The community thinks...
  • Styling8.7
  • Performance8.0
  • Interior8.1
  • Quality8.1
  • Recommendation8.1
See reviews by
Owners
Test Drivers
Enthusiasts
Sort by
1 - 5 of 45 reviews
2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9  Next
Show per page
Owner
  • Styling6.0
  • Performance8.0
  • Interior7.0
  • Quality9.0
  • Recommendation8.0
Decent car for the money, but go Japanese if you can. by Rob on 03/01/2009. Trim: 2005 Chrysler Sebring Touring Sedan, Owned 3 years.
4
Pros: Decent car for the price. Good handling & brakes, good performance from 2.7l V6, comfortable ride, reasonable fuel economy (especially on the highway). Accelerates & passes well; will cruise effortlessly at 80-100 mph all day long. Touring edition is comfortable and nicely equipped, if not overly luxurious. Good car for road trips.
Cons: Interior materials are cheap but hey, it's a Mopar - they've been that way for decades. Not much headroom, especially for people over 6'. Bad blind spots at A-pillars and C-pillars. Seats lack side support for hard cornering and are a bit "flat" for long trips (this is minor - pull over, get out and stretch every couple of hours and you'll be fine). Engine makes decent power but is noisier & less refined than Asian/European competitors. Transmission doesn't always pick the right gear for speed/load, sometimes shifts a bit abruptly. I've been told this is a common issue with these cars - factory shift programming is not the greatest.
Overall review: Overall this has been a good car. I've had it for 3 years and driven it 50,000 kms with only 2 minor issues: brakes were pulsing due to warped rotors (cost $50 to have them machined and they've been perfect ever since), and the right front wheel bearing needed replacing about a year ago (covered under factory warranty). Other than that it has been 100% trouble-free and aside from the "cons" mentioned above, in my opinion the Sebring is good value for the money. However, I doubt that it's built as well as Japanese (and perhaps Korean) competitors, and I plan to trade it in soon before it starts falling apart. If you want a good, low-priced mid-size car that you're only going to keep for a few years, consider a Sebring. If you want a mid-size car that's of a higher caliber then consider something like a Camry, Accord or Altima. They're better built, more refined and resale value is higher. Korean cars like the Hyundai Sonata also look good but they suffer from low resale value as well.
Review ID: #537525 Is this review offensive?
Owner
  • Styling9.0
  • Performance7.0
  • Interior7.0
  • Quality1.0
  • Recommendation1.0
The Golden Lemon!!! by An MSN Autos Consumer on 07/04/2010. Trim: 2005 Chrysler Sebring Sedan, Owned less than 1 year.
3
Pros: The appearance of the car and the smooth ride. seats are comfortable.
Cons: I purchased this car from a used car dealer, I have had the car a total of 2 weeks out of 4. Nothing but problems with it, engine light is always on. When you buy a car, used or new it should be checked out before they sell it! And always show you the car fax!!!
Overall review: I think I got the lemon out of the Sebrings!!!!
Review ID: #547836 Is this review offensive?
Owner
  • Styling9.0
  • Performance8.0
  • Interior7.0
  • Quality8.0
  • Recommendation8.0
Sebring! by Matt on 04/15/2012. Trim: 2005 Chrysler Sebring Touring Convertible, Owned 2 years.
2
Pros: Good Acceleration, comfortable, great looking car, convertible tops, gas mileage, reliability, low budget
Cons: Long heavy doors, Rough shifting at times, feels every bump in the road
Overall review: This is an overall great, reliable, and good looking convertible. The large chrysler emblem on the front really catches the eye. I get around 21/28 mpg which is above average for a convertible. I can hit 60 in around 7.5 which is more than respectable acceleration. The only problems i've had with this car since my dad gave it to me 2 years ago is i've had to replace the door sockets twice because the doors are long and heavy, but the repair is cheap so no worries. The car can really jerk when shifting at times so don't get freaked out. And you feel every bump in the road, but i guess since it's so low to the ground it really gives it that sporty feel. The only other thing i would watch out for would be when driving up a steep driveway or going over speedbumps, go slow because i've scraped the bumper a few times since this car is so low. Other than that just regular maintenance. About to give this back to my dad and buy another mopar, but it was a great first car. Thanks dad!
Review ID: #557886 Is this review offensive?
Owner
  • Styling10
  • Performance8.0
  • Interior9.0
  • Quality10
  • Recommendation10
THE COOLEST by SPINNER on 04/14/2009. Trim: 2005 Chrysler Sebring Convertible, Owned 3 years.
1
Pros: GREAT LOOKER
Cons: NOTHING
Overall review: A GOOD CAR TO OWN
Review ID: #538731 Is this review offensive?
Owner
  • Styling10
  • Performance8.0
  • Interior8.0
  • Quality8.0
  • Recommendation8.0
My Mid- life Car by BLUEQQS on 04/03/2009. Trim: 2005 Chrysler Sebring GTC Convertible, Owned 3 years.
1
Pros: Love the body!! Wish they would have left it alone.
Cons: BLIND SPOTS!!!!
Overall review: My favorite car
Review ID: #538502 Is this review offensive?
1 - 5 of 45 reviews
2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9  Next
Show per page
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by Microsoft Corporation nor MSN Autos. Have comments about MSN Autos' User Reviews? Send us an email.
advertisement

Search local listings

powered by:

Recently Viewed Cars

View favorites
BB05 - 4/18/2014 1:56:00 PM