2004 BMW Z4

AdChoices
Tell us what you think...
The community thinks...
  • Styling9.1
  • Performance9.2
  • Interior8.6
  • Quality8.9
  • Recommendation9.0
See reviews by
Owners
Test Drivers
Enthusiasts
Sort by
1 - 5 of 98 reviews
2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10  Next
Show per page
Owner
  • Styling10
  • Performance8.0
  • Interior7.0
  • Quality6.0
  • Recommendation5.0
American made z4 by sam on 08/03/2012. Trim: 2004 BMW Z4 3.0i, Owned 2 years.
2
Pros: styling,wow factor,good performer,once the run flat tires are replaced the car has a pretty good ride and still performs well in corners
Cons: the electric steering is a design flaw and should be replaced by recall,replace run flat tires asap,seats could be more cushiony,
Overall review: this car is not for most people but as a classy sports car it is pretty nice unless you have some bmw reliability problems. I have not!!! The electric steering is a bmw design flaw that they will not admit to.The steering sticks and can be dangerous, particularly on hot days.Highway safety org. knows about this flaw but has not recalled the 2003 thru 2003 cars.
Review ID: #562693 Is this review offensive?
Owner
  • Styling10
  • Performance10
  • Interior9.0
  • Quality9.0
  • Recommendation10
2004 BMW Z4 3.0 - Ultimate Driving Machine -- Nothing like it! by South Bend, Indiana on 01/07/2007. Trim: 2004 BMW Z4 3.0i, Owned 1 year.
2
Pros: (1) Amazing handling. Takes tight curves at amazing speeds and begs to go faster. (2) Style - speaks modernity, class, and distinction. The older models look as good as the new ones as most original owners meticulously care for the vehicles. (3) Automatic convertible top. Hold a button and 8 seconds later, the top is down. (4) Dynamic Stability Control - I've driven RWDs almost all my life but the DSC makes this car truly different. It makes this an all-year car - within reason, of course. (5) Sport Package - Turning the Sport Mode on gives 2nd gear the same rocket acceleration as 1st gear. (6) FUN! Look at it, get in, accelerate, curves -- it makes me smile. Instant
Cons: (1) Germans don't drink coffee and drive. The cup holder is useless for anything larger than 12 oz. Now, I don't expect it to hold a Big Gulp but a Venti Starbucks = disastrous spillage. (2) SMG can be a little touchy. Sometimes (2-3x per month) it takes a couple tries to move from N to 1. The pickup and shifting is just fine for me. The gearheads at Motortrend say it's not as good as the manual and they're probably right - but I'm not on a track trying to eek an additional second out of my lap time. I enjoy not dealing with a clutch. It gives a novice the pleasure of controlling the shift. (3) Glovebox is too small. Only registration and insurance card fit - no room for maps.
Overall review: What I look for in a driving experience: (1) handling (e.g., cornering, maneuverability, responsiveness, braking, etc.), (2) acceleration (i.e., 0-60 in x), (3) fun (e.g., style, amenities, etc.). The z4 excels in all accounts. It's low to the ground and grips the road strongly (better than my previous Porsche 944). You can feel the Dynamic Stability Control kick in during inclimate conditions. You'll beat most anyone off the line but the style is so cool, you don't have to. On December 1, 2006, I purchased a 2004 BMW z4 3.0 with 23k miles, Sport package and SMG gearbox for $24k. Now that we're 3 years past the z4's introduction, some truly great deals can be had. For less than a new Honda Civic, you can experience the nearly-new ultimate driving machine that looks and rides like the $40k dream of a new z4. Nice thing is too -- almost all new owners will garage-keep these and only drive during optimal weather. Life is short. Get one and have fun!
Review ID: #503984 Is this review offensive?
Owner
  • Styling9.0
  • Performance10
  • Interior8.0
  • Quality10
  • Recommendation10
Silver Bullet Z4 by pozlazact on 03/16/2012. Trim: 2004 BMW Z4 3.0i, Owned less than 1 year.
1
Pros: Balance of comfort, power and true roadster feel. -- Amazing sound system!! -- built solid (as with all BMW) -- glass rear window and wind deflector
Cons: Wife hates it - rims get pretty dirty in a hurry - could use another 40 HP
Overall review: Why on Earth would anyone get the 2.5 engine??? This is a great car--had a Z3 3.0 (dark metallic blue) and still miss it, actually turned more heads. But the Z4 is indeed a superior ride... great blend of comfort and grit.
Review ID: #556640 Is this review offensive?
Owner
  • Styling8.0
  • Performance8.0
  • Interior8.0
  • Quality7.0
  • Recommendation6.0
Toledo Blue Special by An MSN Autos Consumer on 02/06/2013. Trim: 2004 BMW Z4 3.0i, Owned 1 year.
Useful?
Pros: Good looking body design, plenty of power, excellent fuel economy.
Cons: Hate the run flat tires. Gives the car too hard of a ride.
Overall review: Great looking sports car with plenty of performance.
Review ID: #569475 Is this review offensive?
Owner
  • Styling10
  • Performance10
  • Interior10
  • Quality10
  • Recommendation10
One Hot car! by PatriciaInOhio on 07/19/2009. Trim: 2004 BMW Z4 3.0i, Owned 1 year.
Useful?
Pros: The interior doesn't feel cramped. I love the style of the body, how it handles and how quickly and easy the top goes down...I love just about everything about this car! Driving my BMW Z4 is my daily therapy!
Cons: The radio display is difficult to read when the top is down and the retractable cup holders feel rather cheap. These designs have since been corrected in the newer models.
Overall review: Compared to most convertibles, the body is sleek, uninterrupted, clean and sporty. It handles wonderfully through tight turns, has the best size trunk compared to other small sporty cars and turns heads everywhere I take it!
Review ID: #541223 Is this review offensive?
1 - 5 of 98 reviews
2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10  Next
Show per page
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by Microsoft Corporation nor MSN Autos. Have comments about MSN Autos' User Reviews? Send us an email.
advertisement

Search local listings

powered by:

Recently Viewed Cars

View favorites
BB03 - 7/25/2014 2:18:34 AM