2002 Ford ZX2

2002 Ford ZX2 Prices
Blue Book® Suggested Retail Value
2002 Ford ZX2 Fuel Economy
Fuel Economy (city/hwy)
AdChoices
Tell us what you think...
The community thinks...
  • Styling9.0
  • Performance8.6
  • Interior8.2
  • Quality8.5
  • Recommendation8.5
See reviews by
Owners
Test Drivers
Enthusiasts
Sort by
1 - 5 of 93 reviews
2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10  Next
Show per page
Owner
  • Styling10
  • Performance10
  • Interior9.0
  • Quality10
  • Recommendation10
Still love my ZX2, it's a keeper! by ko57 on 06/27/2007. Trim: 2002 Ford ZX2 Standard, Owned 5 years.
2
Pros: Very comfortable, ergonomic, the steering wheel feels good in your hands. I like Ford's design in that everything is placed as far as all the contols for the inside-the A.C., inside ceiling light, individual driver/passender light switches, the a.c. vents-everything is balanced and works well. The car accelerates well-can leave others behind, ride is smooth, the car handles very well, an easy pleasant driving vehicle. I hope it lasts forever, a good fit for me. Too bad they quit making this model, I'd love to see a re-issue, but not a drastic design as far as the exterior. I hate the newer boxy, high, big rear ended cars-what is that all about? This car is sleek for an economy car.
Cons: Didn't come with a CD player, that's why the 9 instead of a 10. Now and then at a touchless carwash, a little water-just a few drops-will get in on the driver's side window.
Overall review: After 5 years and only 30,000 miles, I hope this car lasts me a very long time. Oil change every 3000 miles, regular transmission, radiator coolant changes, and other maintenance will hopefully do the trick. The seats are comfortable in this car, the A.C. is cold. My mileage local is about 25 mpg, on the highway it gets about 28-29mpg, if I keep the speed reasonable. Driving 50mph makes a difference, will make a difference in the life of your car, but I do go about 60-65 at times. I bought this car July 31, 2002, my brother was the new car salesman. After walking the dealership with him for about 2 hours, we came back inside-nighttime-and this white ZX2 was parked right next to his cubicle, windows down. It looked sporty, I got in, and his final arm twister-wanna take it home to try?-did it. Driving a new car home, guages all lit up, everything new & works, new car smell, you won't want to bring it back especially if your trade in is costing high repair bills.
Review ID: #512880 Is this review offensive?
Owner
  • Styling1.0
  • Performance1.0
  • Interior1.0
  • Quality1.0
  • Recommendation1.0
SUCKY ESCORT by An MSN Autos Consumer on 04/25/2010. Trim: 2002 Ford ZX2 Premium, Owned less than 1 year.
1
Pros: None.
Cons: The Back seat is small,hard to get out of
Overall review: NO THANK YOU,MR.FORD!
Review ID: #546802 Is this review offensive?
Owner
  • Styling7.0
  • Performance9.0
  • Interior9.0
  • Quality9.0
  • Recommendation9.0
Worth a second look if you find one... by Larry in Virginia on 01/24/2007. Trim: 2002 Ford ZX2 Premium, Owned 5 years.
1
Pros: A subtly fine handling car; suspension is well matched and with the twin-cam engine and manual transmission you can have some fun – if a bit low key. Entertaining to drive both around town and out on longer trips.
Cons: Styling is still reminiscent of the Escort, so from some angles looks a tad dorky in the coupe. Higher powered twin-cam engine revs readily, but doesn’t have the bottom end torque of the single cam engine.
Overall review: The ZX2 is s shrewdly high-quality little car. It is really an Escort under the skin – that is both good and bad. It is a tested platform and handles well, but is not quite as rattle-free as the newer, ugly-duckling Focus. The premium sound system is robust and generally very good, but does have to over-power some wind-noise at highway speeds. Mileage is consistently over 32-34mpg on straight highway driving and there have been very few quality issues. Seats are comfortable even for grain-fed sized drivers like me, and at 60K the ZX2 shows no signs of burning oil between oil changes. Overall a nice little car and worth looking at when on comes on the used market.
Review ID: #504965 Is this review offensive?
Owner
  • Styling8.0
  • Performance7.0
  • Interior7.0
  • Quality9.0
  • Recommendation8.0
Not Bad for an Econobox by Stickity Plickity on 02/02/2006. Trim: 2002 Ford ZX2 Deluxe, Owned 5 years.
1
Pros: Low running and purchase costs, anvil reliability/simplicity, punchy power delivery.
Cons: Wonky automatic transmission, imbalanced engine vibrates like a paintshaker (and poor interior sound insulation), takes forever to warm up in winter, surprisingly bad city gas mileage (I think that's just a fluke with our individual car).
Overall review: As economy cars go, it's hard to go wrong with a ZX2. Besides being comfortable, they're cheap to buy, cheap to own, and cheap to run. For some reason, our car uses a lot of gas for a four-banger. It does the 300-mile round trip journey from Quincy, IL, to St. Louis, MO, and back easily on one tank. But when driving around town, it seems like I have to gas up every other time I drive home. From reading magazine articles, however, I think this may just be an individual problem with our car. As in all economy cars, there are some shortcomings. The engine is loud and rattles the interior plastic at stoplights because it is not as balanced or refined as other Ford engines. The cheap auto tranny shifts when IT wants to and not neccesarily when you NEED it to. And, most importantly in the Upper Midwest, it takes FOR-EV-ER to warm up. This means, when you're driving in town during winter, the heater will start working around the time you get where you're going.
Review ID: #486253 Is this review offensive?
Owner
  • Styling7.0
  • Performance1.0
  • Interior2.0
  • Quality1.0
  • Recommendation1.0
BUYER BEWARE!!! by Marisa - Plano, TX on 10/19/2005. Trim: 2002 Ford ZX2 Premium, Owned 3 years.
1
Pros: I've got a 2002 in Midnight Blue, looks great when it's all clean. Sporty and sleek, very cute.
Cons: Constant tranny & gear shift probs. 3 times have put it in drive & hit the gas but doesn't go anywhere - have to put it in neutral & back into drive, then it's ok. Horrid acceleration, VERY rough idle, a/c doesn't cut it in TX heat. Ford says this is norm for 4cyl. Motor mounts were stripped after 1.5 years and 14k miles. Ford replaced them summer of 2004, but by Oct 2005, #1 mount had collapsed and needed to be replaced. Tired of Ford's incompetence. Don't want to admit that they put out such a shoddy product. Got the premium package - everything but a sunroof. Would expect a car w/a premium pkg to have a nicer interior, but it's still pretty plain. Not getting advertised mpg.
Overall review: This car looks cute, but that's all it has going for it. Stay away from the escort, and probably Ford in general. Their customer service skills are severely lacking, and I don't think their service advisors are the sharpest tools in the shed. The last one I spoke with asked if I bought mine new or used - his screen said in big letters that the mileage at the time of sale was a whopping 25. I should have pointed that out to him and told him to figure it out for himself.
Review ID: #480110 Is this review offensive?
1 - 5 of 93 reviews
2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10  Next
Show per page
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by Microsoft Corporation nor MSN Autos. Have comments about MSN Autos' User Reviews? Send us an email.
advertisement

Search local listings

powered by:

Recently Viewed Cars

View favorites
BB05 - 9/20/2014 5:05:25 PM